President Kovind Appoints Odisha, Mizoram Governors


New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday appointed new Governors of two states  Odisha and Mizoram. While Professor Ganeshi Lal has been appointed as the Governor of Odisha with effect from the date he resumes office, Kerala Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Kummanam Rajasekharan has been appointed as the new Governor of Mizoram, news agency ANI reported.

Kummanam Rajasekharan will replace the incumbent Lt Gen Nirbhay Sharma who will complete his term on May 28. 65-year-old Kummanam Rajasekharan began his career as a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and later became the president of Kerala BJP.

Haryana BJP leader Ganeshi Lal has replaced Satya Pal Malik as the new Governor of the state. Ganeshi Lal was the national President of discipline committee of BJP in Haryana.

Ganeshi Lal will replace sitting Mizoram Governor Nirbhay Sharma whose term coming to an end on May 28.