Post Sweep ‘Vengeance’, Soumen Mitra Removed From CP’s Post

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: Just two days after TMC swiped Bengal polls crushing Left  and Congress,  the Nabanna on Saturday removed Soumen Mitra from the post of Commissioner of Kolkata police and roped in Rajiv Kumar, who was earlier removed by the Election Commission.

Rajiv Kumar will get back his former post as the Commissioner of Police as per a circular issued from Nabanna. Rajiv Kumar will be replacing the present CP Soumen Mitra will now be the Additional DG, IGP, training Rajiv Kumar was removed by the Election Commission on grounds of being impartial as complained by the opposition. Bidhannagar Commissionerate Javed Shamim maybe removed from his post, as per sources. Apart from him, 67 officers were even transferred while the Bengal Assembly elections were underway.

- Advertisement -

As Mamata Banerjee is on her way to form the Bengal government for the second consecutive term, she promised to bring back all officers who had lost their ranks during polls. Within 24 hours of the declaration of the results, TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee said that she would take part in the swearing-in ceremony once all the officers get back their old posts. She announced that she would take oath on May 27 at the Red Road in order to enable all the common people to see the event.

10-12 days before the first phase of the West Bengal assembly elections, the EC removed Rajiv Kumar and replaced his post with Soumen Mitra on April 12. Several agree that Soumen Mitra did a commendable job during the assembly polls. But inspite of hard work, he will have to bid adieu to his post as Mamata Banerjee retained her crown in Bengal.

According to sources, it would be impossible to return back the posts of all the 67 officers within May 27, but a few has the possibility of returning back. District Magistrate P. B. Salim (South 24 Parganas), Police Supers – Prasun Banerjee (Malda), Arnab Ghosh (South Dinajpur), Mukesh Kumar (Birbhum), Kunal Agraval (Bardhaman), Tanmay Roy Choudhury (North 24 Parganas)