By polls: Acid test for all parties


Bangaon/Krishnagunj: By polls for one Lok Sabha and one Vidhan Sabha constituency in West Bengal are scheduled today. The contest will be mainly tripolar in nature between Trinamool Congress, CPI(M) and BJP in Bangaon Lok Sabha and Krishnagunj Vidhan Sabha constituencies.

Heavy security measurements have been undertaken by the election commission for conducting the elections peacefully. Apart from the west Bengal Police, 95 companies of Central forces have been deployed.

The central forces have continued their route marches throughout the area a day before the polls. Nearly 100 sensitive booths will be monitored by CCTV cameras and adequate number of security personnel will be deployed in each polling station to avoid any unwanted circumstances

There will be tough contest between TMC candidate Mamatabala Thakur and BJP candidate Subrata Thakur in the Bangaon constituency, where CPI(M) heavyweight Debesh Das is being considered as a dark horse in the race. Congress candidiate Kuntal Mondal is not being considered in the fray.

On the other, Krishnagunj Vidhansabha will also see a tough fight between CPI (M)’s Apurba Kr. Biswas and TMC’s Satyajit Biswas. The other contestants are BJP’s Manabendra Roy and Nitya Gopal Mondal from INC.

The state will be going for the Vidhan Sabha Polls next year. all the parties have eyed this by polls to test their ground in Bengal. Though the Municipal elections are scheduled in the later part of the year, the by poll in these two constituencies is the acid test for all parties to prove their hold in the rural area of the state which holds a major share in the vote bank.