By-Poll Results: Mamata Congratulates Akhilesh-Mayawati


Kolkata: Samajwadi Party’s astonishing lead in the Uttar Pradesh bypolls started trickling in, political leaders from across the spectrum shared their reactions to the outcome.

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee congratulated Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati for the bypolls. The two arch-rivals had come together for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur bypolls.

- Advertisement -

“Great victory. Congratulations to Mayawati Ji and @yadavakhilesh Ji for #UPByPolls The beginning of the end has started,” the Trinamool Congress chief tweeted. The West Bengal Chief Minister also congratulated RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav for his party’s performance in Araria and Jehanabad.

Quoting Mamata’s tweet, Lalu wrote on Twitter: “Thank you Didi..Together We are fighting, we shall fight and We will Win.”

In Yogi Adityanath’s bastion Gorakhpur, Samajwadi Party’s candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad was leading by 25,870 votes with 3,34.463 votes and BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla stood second with 3,08.593 votes after 22nd round of counting.