PM Bids Farewell To Retiring RS Members


New Delh: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday congratulated the retiring Rajya Sabha for their service and extended wishes for their future.

Addressing members at the Rajya Sabha, the Prime Minister said, “We bid farewell to some of our MP colleagues in the Rajya Sabha. All of the outgoing parliamentarians have their significant contribution, importance, and each one of them has tried to contribute to the best of their capacity for the bright future of this country, and the country will not forget them.”

The Prime Minister also mentioned few of the eminent members of the House appointed by the President, “We will always remember the distinguished work of Parasaran Ji. The players who have made India proud, Dilip (Tirkey) ji and Sachin (Tendulkar) ji- in the coming, days we will not have the privilege of their presence. Everyone will remember Professor (P. J.) Kurien and his smiling face; this has been his specialty and he played an important role in running the House.”

“Unfortunately, you will not be a part of Parliament when the long due decision on Triple Talaq is taken,” he added. Fifty-nine Rajya Sabha MPs will retire in April 2018.