‘Player of the year’ Sunil-Bala


New Delhi: Indian men’s football team captain Sunil Chhetri was Friday handed the 2014’s Player of the Year trophy while striker Bala Devi received the last year’s Best Woman Footballer Award, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) said in a statement Friday.
Chhetri won the award for the fourth time, having received it in 2007, 2011 and 2013, surpassing legend I.M. Vijayan who won it thrice.
Besides a trophy, Chhetri also pocketed Rs.2 lakh.
Devi was recognised with the award after scoring 47 goals, including 18 in international matches, last year. Teammate Oinam Bembem Devi won it on the last two occasions.
Devi also received a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh.
Sandesh Jhingan who played for the Kerala Blasters in the Indian Super League was named the 2014 emerging player of the year and received a cash rize of Rs.75,000.
However, Chhetri and Jhingan were not present during the ceremony due to their club commitments.
The full list of awards:
2014 AIFF Player of the Year: Sunil Chhetri
2014 AIFF Women’s Footballer of the Year: Bala Devi
2014 Emerging Player of the Year: Sandesh Jhingan
2014 AIFF Award for Best Referee: Santosh Kumar
2014 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee: Sappam Kennedy
AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: WIFA
AIFF Award for long time contribution to Indian Football: ONGC