Nine Rebel Assam Congress MLAs Disqualified in Assembly


Guwahati: Assam Assembly Speaker Pranab Kumar Gogoi on Monday disqualified nine rebel Congress MLAs from the House membership with immediate effect for joining BJP.

“The Speaker issued the orders this evening. As per the rules, he disqualified the nine Congress MLAs with immediate effect for joining a different political party while getting elected from another party,” Assam Assembly Principal Secretary Pranab Kumar Das said.

The nine MLAs are: Jayanta Mallah Baruah, Pijush Hazarika, Pallab Lochan Das, Pradan Barua, Abu Taher Bepari, Kripanath Mallah, Rajen Borthakur, Binanda Kumar Saikia and Bolin Chetia.

The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee had already expelled these MLAs from the primary memberships in November.

The principal secretary said that Congress chief whip Nilamani Sen Deka had filed a complaint with the Speaker on December one for disqualification of the members.

Accordingly, the Speaker issued notices to all the nine leaders giving them one week’s time to reply, he added.

“However, they sought more time on December 8 and the Speaker gave another week’s time till December 14. He called a hearing on December 19, when all the concerned people from both sides came. The Speaker heard the arguments of both the sides,” he said.