NidahasTrophy: Men In Blue Beats Tigers By 17 Runs


Colombo: India beat Bangladesh by 17 runs, through to the final of the Nidahas Trophy. India are the only team in the Nidahas Trophy 2018 which has won two games out of three and is all but into the final. They face Bangladesh in their final group stage game on Wednesday in Colombo.

Bangladesh have played two games and won one. They lost to India in their first game but won their second game against Sri Lanka. To keep their hopes of reaching the final alive, Bangladesh need to beat India on Wednesday.

India bowlers restricted Bangladesh to 159/6 in 20 overs, after they posted 176/3 with skipper Rohit Sharma scoring 89 off 61 balls.

Sundar had a great game as he struck thrice in the Powerplay overs to give India an early advantage. Sundar dismissed Liton Das in the second over for his first wicket, then he clean bowled Soumya Sarkar and Tamim Iqbal (27) in his next two overs.

Yuzvendra Chahal then removed Mahmudullah for 11 in the ninth over. Bangladesh were struggling at 61/4 in 8.4 overs when Sabbir Rahman joined Mushfiqur Rahim in the middle. The duo added 65 runs for the fifth wicket to keep Bangladesh in the hunt, before Shardul Thakur broke the partnership in the 17th over when the pacer clean bowled Rahman for 27. Rahman’s 23-ball innings included a six and two fours.

Rahim kept Bangladesh’s hopes alive scoring his fourth T20I fifty in 42 balls with the help of a six and five fours.

India 176/3 (Rohit Sharma 89; Rubel Hossain 2/27) beat Bangladesh 159/6 (Mushfiqur Rahim 72*; Washinton Sundar 3/22) by 17 runs