New Directive Of DMs’ Transfer For 8 Districts


Kolkata: In a major reshuffle in the IAS and WBCS cadre in West Bengal, eight districts magistrates, were transferred on Wednesday.he eight districts are North Dinjpur, South Dinajpur, Birbhum, Bankura, Alipurduar, Paschim Midnapore, Jhargram and Hooghly.

The reshuffle also held in Secretary post at Nabbana. Total nine secretary were transferred, Nabbna sources told on Wednesday.

Earlier on the day, In a major reshuffle in the Mamata Banerjee government in West Bengal after Panchayat Poll, Mayor Sovan Chatterjee was on Wednesday divested of their portfolios. Rajib Banerjee who held the irrigation portfolio, will now look the backward class welfare department, state government sources in Kolkata said.

Subrata Mukherjee, who is the senior most minister in Banerjee’s Cabinet, has become the new minister for Water Resources Investigation and Development department and also continue as the state Panchayat and Rural Development minister. But, the Public Health Engineering department of which he was the minister has now been given to state Labour and Law minister Moloy Ghatak.

An additional charge of the crucial Environment department has been given to state Transport minister Suvendu Adhikari. Mayor Sovan Chatterjee was earlier the state’s Environment minister. Chatterjee will be continuing as the state Fire and Emergency Services minister and the minister for the Housing department.

Saumen Mahapatra has been given the charge of the state Irrigation and Waterways department. He was earlier the minister for the Water Resources Investigation and Development department. Chandrima Bhattacharya has been given the additional charge of the Minister of State of the Tribal Development Department.

It may be mentioned that James Kujur and Churamani Mahata had resigned from their posts of Tribal Development minister and Backward Classes Welfare ministers respectively on Tuesday. Abani Mohan Joardar, who was MLA from North Krishnanagar Assembly constituency, also quit his post. He was a minister without any portfolio due to his illness.