New Assam Govt To Be Sworn In On May 24, PM To Attend Ceremony


Guwahati: After securing a mammoth mandate, the BJP is all set to form government in Assam for the first time. The BJP-lead coalition will be sworn in on May 24. The oath taking ceremony will be held at Khanapara field in Guwahati, said sources.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to attend the oath taking ceremony, reported sources.

BJP president Amit Shah, Chief Ministers of BJP ruled states are also expected to attend the oath-taking ceremony, Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

The BJP lead coalition has completely vanquished Congress and ended Tarun Gogoi’s 15-year-old rule in the state. The BJP-AGP coalition has secured a whopping 87 seats while the Congress was contained on only 23.

On the other hand, three time chief minister Taurn Gogoi will resign from the CM’s post today after holding a cabinet meet at Koinadhara in Guwahati. This will be the last meet of Gogoi cabinet.

The outgoing CM on Thursday said that he accepts the defeat and will act as an constructive opposition.