Naoda-Kandi Bypoll: A Prestige Fight Of Adhir-Suvendu


Kolkata: Soon after the completion of 17th Lok Sabha election, Kandi and Naoda assembly constituencies of Murshidabad district will go to bypoll on Monday. Voting process will start from 7 am. This would be a face off between ‘Bengal Tiger’ Adhir Chowdhury and Trinamool’s Suvendu Adhikari.

Recently shifted Congress leader, now Trinamool MLA Apurba Sarkar and Abu Taher Khan got the candidature of Behrampore and Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency. So these two seats left vacant after their departure from Congress. Following that fact, the bypoll is taking place at these places where the results will come out along with the Lok Sabha results on May 23.

The ruling party fielded Goutam Roy as candidate in Kandi Assembly Constituency who’s the chairman of Kandi Municipality. Beside, Congress fielded Safiul Alam Khan and BJP took Sanat Mondal. Left party did not give candidate for Kandi seat.

On the other hand, Sahina Mamtaz is the Trinamool candidate for Naoda Assembly Constituency who is a member of Murshidabad Zilla Parishad. Parallely, Sunil Mondal is the candidate of Congress in this seat. BJP’s Anupam Mondal and RSP candidate Sirazul Islam Mondal contesting from Naoda Assembly Constituency.