Nandigram Issue: Arrest Warrant Issued Against 11 Persons


Tamluk: Eleven persons including three police officers were charge-sheeted by the CBI in connection with the Nandigram case on Friday. The Additional Chief Judicial magistrate court (I) in Haldia on Monday issued arrest warrant against eleven persons.

The three police officers against whom the arrest warrant has been issued are Satyajit Bandyopadhyay, additional SP of Malda the then time, Debashis Boral, Additional SP of Hoogly and Sekhar Roy is served as OC of the Nandigram police station. Arrest warrant has also been issued against CPM activists Himangsu das, Pratap Sau, Robin Giri, Sambhunath Das Adhikari, Sripati jana, Prajapati Das, Robiul Hossen, Bijon Ray.  Badul Garudas is now in bail so his name did not enlisted.

CPM leaders shut their mouth on this issue. The Nandigram incident, often termed as the Waterloo for CPI(M), opened a new chapter in Bengal politics which ultimately helped the Trinamool Congress to come to power in 2011 putting an end to 34 years of CPI(M) rule.