Names Of 27 New Smarts Cities Announced: West Bengal Fails To Make It To The List


New Delhi : The Centre on Tuesday announced the next set of cities for financing under the Modi-government flagship Smart City Mission.

Here is the list of 27 cities (From 12 states) announced by the government on Tuesday-

1. Agra (UP)
2. Ajmer (Rajasthan)
3. Amritsar (Punjab)
4. Aurangabad (Maharashtra)
5. Gwalior (MP)
6. Hubli-Dharwad (karnataka)
7. Jalandhar (Punjab)
8. Kalyan-Dombiwali (Maharashtra)
9. Kanpur (UP)
10. Kohima (Nagaland)
11. Kota (Rajasthan)
12. Madurai (Tamil Nadu)
13. Mangaluru (Karnataka)
14. Nagpur (Maharashtra)
15. Namchi (Sikkim)
16. Nashik (Maharashtra)
17. Rourkela (Odisha)
18. Salem ( Tamil Nadu)
19. Shivamogga (Karnataka)
20. Thane (Maharashtra)
21. Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu)
22. Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh)
23. Tumakuru (Karnataka)
24. Ujjain (MP)
25. Vadodara (MP)
26. Varanasi (UP)
27. Vellore (Tamil Nadu)

As per the Mission guidelines, as many as 40 cities have to be announced during this financial year. As the government had already announced 13 cities in May, a slot of 27 cities remained vacant against which the announcement would be made by Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu tomorrow.

In January, the government had announced a list of 20 cities for partial funding to be developed as smart cities which would have facilities such as assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management systems, efficient urban mobility and public transportation, IT connectivity and e-governance, among others.

Each city will receive Central assistance of Rs 200 crore in the first year and Rs 100 crore over the three subsequent financial years.

State governments and respective urban local bodies will also match the Centre’s contribution.

The Modi-government aims to transform about 100 cities by 2019-20, with the Centre providing financial support of Rs 48,000 crore over five years.