Myanmar Parliament To Elect New Prez on Tuesday

- Advertisement -

Naypyidaw: The Myanmarese Union Parliament will vote on Tuesday to elect a new president of the country, it was announced in parliament on Monday.

There are three nominees for the post are U Htin Kyaw and U Henry Van Htee Yu of the National League for Democracy, led by Nobel laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, and Lt Gen U Myint Swe nominated by the army, Xinhua news agency reported.

The parliament announcement came after the three presidential candidates were declared as being qualified for the run by speaker of the Union Parliament U Mann Win Khaing Than.
The country’s parliament had set three groups representing the two houses and military member of parliament to nominate one candidate each for the presidential run.

- Advertisement -

The one who wins the most number of votes will be declared president, while the remaining two will be appointed vice presidents. The elected president and two vice presidents will be sworn in on March 3