Museum Coming Up Inside Bengal Assembly


Kolkata: On November 20, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is going to lay the foundation stone of a museum inside the Assembly premises. The museum will depict the rich history of the Legislative Assembly, and through it, the immense contribution of Bengal to the freedom struggle of the country.

It will be housed inside a five-storied building, which will have, among other facilities, a state-of-the-art auditorium.
The history of the Bengal Legislature can be traced back to January 18, 1862 when, under the Indian Councils Act of 1861, a twelve-member Legislative Council for Bengal Presidency was established by the Governor-General of British India, with the Lt Governor of Bengal and some nominated members.

Under the provisions of the Government of India Act 1935, the Bengal Provincial Legislature, as it was named later, was made bicameral – housing the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Legislative Council was abolished in 1969 through the enactment of the West Bengal Legislative Council (Abolition) Act.

At present, the Legislative Assembly has 295 members, which includes 294 members directly elected from single-seat constituencies and one nominated from the Anglo-Indian community. Its term is five years, unless sooner dissolved.