Murshidabad Congress MLA Shaoni Joins TMC


Beharampore: The Congress MLA from Murshidabad constituency, Mrs Shaoni Singha Roy joined the Trinamool Congress party on Sunday.

The state transport minister and the TMC observer for Murshidabad, Mr Subhendu Adhikary handed over the party flag to the defected Congress MLA during a party workers’ meeting at Jiaganj municipal town.

With this, the state Congress party lost two MLAs in a span of two weeks in Murshidabad district. The Murshidabad MLA, however, explained, she joined TMC because she was humiliated a lot when she was in Congress.

Earlier, Rabiul Alam Chowdhury, who was the Congress MLA from Rejinagar constituency in Murshidabad district, also joined TMC.

With the three defected Congress MLAs, the TMC now established control in seven Assembly constituencies out of total 22 seats in Murshidabad district.