Mufti Sayeed to take oath as J&K CM


Srinagar: Mufti Mohammad Sayeed will be sworn as the twelfth Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir on Sunday. After the hang verdict pronounced by the J&K polls, for the first time BJP and PDP formed coalition and will be forming government.
BJP secured 25 seats and the PDP got 28 seats in the J&K Bidhan Sabha polls. Although BJP emerged its strongest in the minority state it did not manage to touch the magic figure of 37 seats nor did PDP, a mainstream party in J&K.

The oath taking ceremony will take place at the Jorawar Singh auditorium in Jammu and Kashmir University around 10:00 am on Sunday. As reported BJP’s Nirmal Singh has been nominated as the Deputy CM.

The ceremony will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home minister Rajnath singh and many senior BJP leaders including Lal Krishna Advani. Congress leader Omar Abdulla may also attend the ceremony. Security has been beefed up in and around the University campus following the consistent terror threat in the state.