MS Dhoni To Lead India in Zimbabwe

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead a 16-member squad for India’s short limited-overs tour of Zimbabwe from June 11-22.Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested.

 India’s tour of Zimbabwe will comprise three ODIs on June 11, 13 and 15 and three T20s which have been scheduled for June 18, 20 and 22. All the matches would be played in Harare.

India had last played one-day internationals against Australia in January, losing the five-match series 1-4. They have since only played T20 Internationals and had a remarkable run till their defeat in the World T20 semi-final against West Indies.

- Advertisement -

BCCI sources had earlier said the selectors would not consider the seniors for Zimbabwe as the board felt they needed some rest after a long cricket season. However, it was reported that the selectors had left it to Dhoni to decide whether or not he would be touring with a young team.

Squad for Zimbabwe tour: MS Dhoni (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fasal, Maneesh Pandey, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Jaspreet Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaidev Unadkat, Yajuevendra Chahal

For West Indies

The squad for the four-Test series against West Indies was also announced. The Kohli-led team will tour the Caribbean Islands in July-August this year.

Iyer was rewarded for his consistency in Ranji Trophy. The Delhi batsman has amassed 1321 runs at an average of 73.38 in the current season having scored 809 runs in the previous one.