MP, Mizoram Elections: Polling Begins , BJP Looks To Uproot Congress


Aizawl:  Voting for 230 assembly seats has started in Madhya Pradesh. Voting in Mizoram – the BJP’s last frontier in the northeast – has also started. Polling in the 40-member legislative assembly of the hill state will decide the fate of 209 candidates.

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP, led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, is seeking a fourth term in power. While the Congress and Mizo National Front (MNF), the main opposition and an ally of the BJP at the centre, are contesting all 40 seats, the BJP which has never won an assembly election in Mizoram has fielded candidates in 39 seats.

- Advertisement -

The counting of votes for Madhya Pradesh Pradesh and Mizoram will take place on December 11, along with that of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana, where assembly elections are also being held.

Polling in Mizoram will be held on Wednesday with over 7.70 lakh voters expected to exercise their franchise in the state where chief minister Lal Thanhawla is seeking a third consecutive term and the BJP looking to uproot the Congress in its last bastion in the Northeast.

The Congress and the Mizoram National Party (MNF) have ruled Mizoram since 1987 when it became a full-fledged state. Interestingly, no party has been able to form government thrice since that year. Elections to the 40-member assembly in Mizoram, which has a population of about 10 lakh, is significant for the BJP that considers it to be the ‘final frontier’ in the region.