Mohun Bagan play out a goalless draw against Sagaocar


Goa: Mohun Bagan took on Salgaocar FC at Fatorda in Goa on Wednesday. Inspite of showing a lot of intent, both teams failed to open the lock gate of goal in the first half. A few chances were created by the green and maroons but the Salgaocar defenders stuck to their task and denied the lead to the boys of Sanjoy Sen.

However, the ball rolled inside the net of Salgocar from a Souvik Ghosh’s cross in the 59th minute. A Salgoacar defender tried to kick it out but the ball was not cleared properly and it went into the net. But referee Santosh Kumar denied the goal by whistling a foul against Balwant charging him of fouling the goalkeeper. In actuality, the previous Churchill Brothers’ forward had not even touched Subrata Paul. Mohun Bagan forward Balwant Singh remained flabbergasted with the referee’s decision.

On the sixty fifth minute, a brilliant shot of Haitian international, Sony Norde was saved by Subrata Paul. The matched remained goalless.

Mohun Bagan kept on attacking by replacing Balwant with Jeje in the 75th minute. Sanjoy Sen, desperate of three points went into the pressing football mode. The team kept on attacking from the middle third region On occasions, Derrick Perrera’s side plunged into the D Box of Mohun Bagan but they never really caught Shilton Paul on the wrong foot. It is only in the eighty third minute a strong left footer from Zakeer that made Shilton feel the heat. But the shot of the ex-Mohun Bagani flew off the bar. In the last few minutes of the match, Salgaocar went all out in their attack and created a few chances. But Shilton played the role of a savior and confirmed that Mohun Bagan get a point from their away encounter.

The possession of the match remained to be 50 per cent in favour of both the teams. It reflected how much intent both the teams had put into the match. Although the green and maroons wanted to take three points out of the match, Sanjoy Sen won’t mind sharing a point each with Derrek Perrera from their away match.

Mohun Bagan XI: Debnath, Bikramjit, Yusa, Devadas(Shehnaz), Kotal, Balwant(Jeje), Norde, Shilton (gk) (c), Shouvik, Bhargav, Rasaq