Manoj Tiwari Registers Thumping Victory Against Sheila Dikshit


New Delhi: Manoj Tiwari registerd a thumping victory in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Manoj Tiwari defeated Congress candidate Sheila Dikshit by a margin of 3,66,102. While it will be a huge blow to the Congress party, BJP is racing towards registering a clean sweep in the national capital. It had achieved a similar result in 2014.

The North East Delhi constituency, after being formed in 2008 after the bifurcation of East Delhi, saw two key contests in 2009 and 2014. A few months ago, the first was expected between BJP’s Manoj Tiwari and AAP’s Dilip Pandey but it became a triangular contest after Congress fielded former chief minister Sheila Dikshit.

In Delhi, the BJP is currently leading all the seven parliamentary constituency seats, leaving zero seats for both the Congress and AAP. The surge in urban voters is evident from the counting of votes in this constituency, which like all six other constituencies in Delhi chose BJP over the others.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is expected to register a sweeping victory and come to power for a second term. As of 4:00 pm, the NDA secured big leads in over 300 seats of the 542 parliamentary seats that went to polls.

Counting of votes to determine the fate of over 8,000 candidates who contested in the Lok Sabha elections 2019 started at 8 am today. While final results are not out yet, trends have given a clear mandate to Narendra Modi-led NDA.