Mandeep, Chahal Steers India To Quadrangular Series Victory  


Canberra: Mandeep Singh smashed a brilliant 95 while spinner Yuzvendra Chahal took four wickets to help India A clinch the Quadrangular ‘A’ Series after defeating Australia A by 57 runs in the final.

Mandeep, who was named ‘Player of the Match’, combined with captain Manish Pandey (61) to set India A up to reach an ultimately defendable total of 266 for four. Shreyas Iyer also played a vital hand with 41 runs.

In reply, Cameron Bancroft (34) and Nic Maddinson started well, but it was Yuzvendra Chahal (4/34), who was the ultimate winner from the innings, taking key scalps and to swing the game India A’s way. Australia A skipper Pete Handscomb (43) combined with Alex Ross (34) to edge closer to the total, but the back end of the game was all for the Indians, claiming the last five wickets for just 26 runs.

India A have now claimed the last three ‘A’ series, defeating Australia A on each occasion.