Siliguri as Teesta, Townships get ‘sixy’ new names


Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday renamed six townships in the state. Siliguri will be known as ‘Teesta’, after a well-known river of North Bengal, Bolpur as ‘Gitabitan’ a collection of the songs of Rabindranath Tagore.

The industrial towns of Asansol-Durgapur will be known as Agnibina while ‘Gajaldoba’ in Maldah district will be known as ‘Mukta Tirtha’. The Garia area of Kolkata will be known as ‘Uttam City’ named after Uttam Kumar. She renamed Kalyani as ‘Samriddhi’. Another township will be coming up near EM bypass and will be known as ‘Viswa Bangla’ as a housing for government employees.

Previous articleED to examine the ‘CSK 5 Lakh’ controversy
Next articleKejri is a ‘King of Blame-games’: BJP