Mamata Banerjee Announces Candidates Name For Rajya Sabha


Kolkata: In a meeting on Friday Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee announced the names of four TMC candidates for upcoming elections to Rajya Sabha — Nadimul Haque, Abir Biswas, Shantanu Sen and Subhashis Chakraborty — and conveyed her best wishes to them.

West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress extended its support on Friday to Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls, opening up possibilities of a new political alignment in the state. Chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday held a meeting with Panchayat Kore Commitee team where she has declared the four names from her party.

Voting to elect 58 members to the Rajya Sabha from different states will take place on 23 March. The last date for filing nominations is 12 March. 15 March is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

There are 10 vacancies from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Bihar and Maharashtra, five each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, four each from Gujarat and Karnataka, three each from Odisha, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, two from Jharkhand and one each from Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand. All the nine candidates are likely to win the elections.