Major Blow For BJP: TDP Quits NDA

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: In a major blow for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which recently pulled out its ministers from the Narendra Modi government, quit the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Friday.

Andhra Pradesh’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) which has 16 MPs today quits the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre a week after two of its representatives left the Narendra Modi government.

- Advertisement -

The TDP’s decision to quit the NDA was taken unanimously by the party politburo. The BJP has 272 MPs in the Lok Sabha, including two nominated MPs.

Yesterday, Andhra Pradesh chief minister Naidu announced support for a no-trust motion against the Centre moved by YSR Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy. The no-trust motion was moved against the Modi government over its refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh. It’s the first such move in the tenure of the NDA government.

TDP and YSR Congress have been agitating in both Houses over the special status demand and the former has even pulled its ministers out of the central government.