LS Elections 2019 Phase 3: Voting Ends For Phase 3 With One Death

  • Voting ends for phase 3.
  • A 52-year-old man, claimed to be a Congress activist, was hacked to death outside a booth during polling in Murshidabad Lok Sabha constituency.
  • Chaos at North Murshidabad’s Bhagwangola due to clashes between Congress and TMC workers at 188 booth. 3 injured from both sides. Ruling party accused of booth jamming. Clashes broke out when this was being protested.
  • 34% Voter Turnout Till 11 am In Bengal
  • Clashes break out between BJP-TMC at booth 155 and 156 of Samsir Motiganj which is in Ratua Vidhan Sabha under North Malda. TMC accused of vandalising BJP party office, Ratua police and central forces have rushed to the area.
  • Gunfire reported in Murshidabad allegedly by TMC.
  • A policeman and an election officer were found sleeping at Khursheed Inter College booth in Rampur parliamentary constituency.
  • Congress and TMC engaged in clash at Lakshmitala Matiyari centre.
  • In Jungipur Lok Sabha constituency, locals allegedly complain of police torture. Shops are vandalized. Three people, including one child injured in the incident.
  • Congress leader Hardik Patel casts his vote at booth number 252/355 in Surendranagar constituency
  • Various states in the fray for the 3rd phase of Lok Sabha election have complained of bogus voting and EVM malfunctioning. In Kerala, there were reports that voting has stopped at Chowara booth near Kovalam in Thiruvananthapuram constituency after voters complained that the ‘lotus’ symbol of the BJP lit up after they cast their vote for the Congress. EVM malfunctioning has been reported in several polling booths across Odisha, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Assam.
  • Cricketer Pujara casts his vote at a polling station in Madhapar area in Rajkot city
  • A presiding officer in Malda North constituency has been transferred after allegations of irregularities during polls today
  • BJP supporters were in injured in Balurghat clash
  • Heeraben Modi, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s mother casts her vote at a polling station in Raisan, Ahmedabad

Tripura (one seat): 1.56% Uttar Pradesh (10 seats): 6.84% West Bengal (5 seats): 10.97% Chhattisgarh (Seven seats): 2.24% Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 0% Daman and Diu: 5.83%.

  • Polling up to 9am Balurghat-17.28% Maldah North- 16.11% Maldah South- 16.22% Jangipur -14.99% Murshidabad- 14.62%
  • Gujarat: BJP President Amit Shah and his wife Sonal Shah cast their votes at polling booth in Naranpura Sub-Zonal office in Ahmedabad
  • EVMs glitch reported at booth number 172 in South Malda.
  • Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and wife Anjali cast their vote at a polling booth in Anil Gyan Mandir school in Rajkot
  • Congress Polling agent was beaten at Maltipur in North Malda.
  • Polling was closed due to EVMs glitch in some areas including Panaulla High School of Kumarganj, South Habibpur of Balurghat, Khanpur Primary School and Hariampur’s Mustipur.
  • PM Narendra Modi casts his vote at a polling booth in Ranip, Ahmedabad.
  • Polling agent was beaten at Jalangi in Murshidabad on Tuesday.
  • Kerala: CM P. Vijayan queues up to casts his vote at polling booth in RC Amala Basic UP School in Pinarayi in Kannur district.
  • BJP president Amit Shah who is contesting from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency arrives at polling booth in Nishan High School of Ranip in Ahmedabad.
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at his mother’s residence in Gandhinagar. He will cast his vote in Ahmedabad, shortly.
  • Violence again reported in Kaliachak of Malda town. Three congress supporters injured.
  • Ram Gopal Yadav casts his vote at polling booth number 228 in Saifai, in Mainpuri parliamentary constituency
  • Voters queue outside polling booth in Kotwali Junior Basic School, in Malda; 5 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state are voting in the third phase of general elections today.
  • Violence erupts in Murshidabad’s Domkal area. Bombing incident reported. TMC councilor’s husband injured. 

New Delhi: In the third phase of polling, which is being touted as the biggest of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections, 116 parliamentary constituencies will go to polls. In 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party finished ahead of the Congress in the seats which went to polls in the first and second phase but was behind non-Congress, non-BJP parties.

The states that would go to poll on 23 April include Assam (4 seats) Bihar (5 seats), Chhattisgarh (7 seats), Gujarat (10 seats), Goa (2 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (1 seat), Karnataka (14 seats), Kerala (20 seats), Maharashtra (14 seats), Odisha (6 seats), Uttar Pradesh (10 seats), West Bengal (5 seats), Tripura (1 seat), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1 seat) and Daman and Diu (1 seat). Earlier, the Election Commission had postponed voting in the Tripura East Lok Sabha seat to the third phase, saying that the law-and-order situation there was not conducive for holding free and fair poll during the second phase.