Losers Under Scanner, Mamata Held Crucial Meet

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday, held a crucial meeting at Subrata Bakshi’s office in Bhowanipore, with the 8 membered committee, to probe the loss of several heavyweight party leaders in the Assembly polls.

The committee formed by the CM a day after the poll results were declared has been assigned with the task to visit the centres and districts where TMC faced defeat.

A number of heavyweights including eight ministers, jailed ex-minister Madan Mitra, Indian soccer icon Bhaichung Bhutia, Chandrima Bhattacharya bit the dust in the West Bengal Assembly elections.

- Advertisement -

 West Bengal Food Processing Minister Krishnendu Narayan Chowdhury lost his Englishbazar seat by a heavy margin of 39,727 votes against Independent candidate Nihar Ranjan Ghosh who was supported by Left-Congress alliance.

Chandrima Bhattacharya, Minister of State for Health, and Law and Judicial Affairs, also failed to retain her seat from North Dumdum as she lost to CPI-M’s Tanmoy Bhattacharya by 6,549 votes.

In Jadavpur, Power Minister Manish Gupta who had defeated the then Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee in 2011, lost to CPI-M’s Sujan Chakraborty by 14,942 votes.

PWD Minister Sankar Chakraborty conceded defeat from Balurghat by a narrow margin of 1450 votes.

Minister Sabitri Mitra lost Manickchak seat by 12603 votes to Congress leader Mohammad Mottakin Alam.

Madan Mitra, who is in judicial custody in the multi-crore Saradha chit fund scam case, lost his Kamarhati seat by 4198 votes to CPI-M leader Manash Mukherjee.

Bengali filmstar Soham Chakraborty was unlucky too as a small margin of 616 votes went in favour of Sujit Chakraborty of CPI-M.