Lionel Messi Wins Record Fifth FIFA Ballon d’Or


Zurich: Lionel Messi has won the FIFA world player of the year award for a record fifth time. Messi ended Cristiano Ronaldo’s two-year hold on the Ballon d’Or trophy on Monday to lift football’s top individual honor.

The Barcelona forward regained the prize after his club won five major titles last year, leaving Ronaldo’s Real Madrid with nothing. “It’s incredible that it’s my fifth. It’s much more than anything I dreamed of as a kid,” Messi, who won four straight FIFA awards from 2009-12, said in his acceptance speech.

American Carli Lloyd won the FIFA women’s world player of the year award. The 33-year-old scored a hat-trick in the USA’s 5-2 win over Japan to win the World Cup last year, having also scored the winning goals for her country in the Olympic Games finals of 2008 and 2012.

Mesi-2Spain’s Luis Enrique won the coach of the year award. Enrique led Barcelona to a treble of Champions League, La Liga and Spanish Cup trophies last season.

English-born Jill Ellis, coach of the American team that won last year’s World Cup in Canada, took the women’s award.

Winners of The Event:

FIFA Ballon d’Or:    Lionel Messi (Argentina & FC Barcelona).

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year:   Carli Lloyd of US.

FIFA Puskas Award:     Wendell Lira of Vila Nova.

FIFA Fair Play Award:  All football organisations supporting refugees.

FIFA World Coach of the Year (Men’s):    Luis Enrique of FC Barcelona.

FIFA World Coach of the Year (Women’s):     Jill Ellis, US women football team.


Mesi-3FifPro World XI: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Thiago Silva (PSG), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Dani Alves (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Neymar (Barcelona), Leo Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).