Late SI Amitava Malik To Receive CM’s Bravery Award


Darjeeling: Late Amitava Malik, Sub-Inspector of Police, will be awarded the Chief Minister’s Bravery Award 2017 posthumously. Other police personnel will also be receiving the Bravery Award and Shourya Padaks.

The sub-inspector was killed after alleged supporters of the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) faction led by Bimal Gurung clashed with police in Darjeeling on Friday. The clash broke out when police was conducting raids at Tukvar near Patlaybas to arrest Gurung, who has been in hiding after being booked on several charges.

On October 13, 2017, a police team had raided the jungles of Shirubari forest on the banks of Chota Rangeet river, 25 km from Darjeeling, in search of GJM president Bimal Gurung.
According to police, Sub-Inspector Amitava Malik (30) and four other policemen were injured in an exchange of fire between police and alleged supporters of Gurung. They were rushed to a local hospital, where Malik succumbed to injuries. GJM sources claimed that one of their supporters was critically injured. His wife was later given a job in the police department.

Along with Late Malik, other awardees of the Chief Minister’s Bravery Award include Akhilesh Chaturvedi, Superintendent of Police, Darjeeling; Soumyajit Roy, IC Sadar, Darjeeling and SI Abhijit Biswas of Sadar PS, Darjeeling.

The recipients of the Shourya Padak 2017 include Nagendra Nath Tripathi, Commandant, SAP (10th Battalion;) Amarnath K, SP (Operations,) Darjeeling; Rahul Pandey, DSP (HQ,) Darjeeling; Kiran Tamang, Assistant Commandant, 2nd IRB and Shyamal Barman, Constable, SAP.