Kovind To Swear-In As India’s 14th President Today


New Delhi: The swearing-in ceremony of newly elected 14th President of India Ram Nath Kovind will take place on Tuesday at a ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament.

Outgoing President Pranab Mukherjee and Kovind will arrive in the Central Hall in a ceremonial procession, where Kovind will be administered oath by Chief Jusitce of India J. S. Khehar.

He will then exchange seats with Mukherjee. A 21-gun salute will be given in his honour and the new president will then deliver his address.

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Union Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, Ambassadors and other diplomats, MPs and senior civil and military officers will be among those present.

After the ceremony ends, the new President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan where an inter-services guard of honour will be given to him in its forecourt. Mukherjee will leave for his new address – 10 Rajaji Marg.

Earlier in the day, Kovind will visit Rajghat to pay his respect to Mahatma Gandhi and then go to Rashtrapati Bhavan where he will be received by Mukherjee and then both will proceed to Parliament.

Students, teachers and staff of the college where Ram Nath Kovind studied up to intermediate level are planning hearty celebrations when he will swear-in as the 14th President of India.

Thrilled over one of their own ascending to the top-most constitutional post in the country, the management of the BNSD Intermediate College has decided to illuminate the premises and organise a community feast.

The college is also busy making preparations for a live telecast of the oath-taking ceremony for its enthusiastic students and staff members. Principal R C Singh said the students and teachers would also distribute sweets in and outside the college.

BJP activists will celebrate the day as the “Gaurav Diwas” in the city, district unit president Surendra Maithani said.

Meanwhile, eight members of the President-elect’s family would also join the ceremony and they left for the national capital on Sunday night.