Kerala Assembly By-Poll: CPI-M Wins With Record Margin


Kerala: Kerala’s ruling CPI(M)-led LDF’s Saji Cheriyan won the Chengannur Assembly bypoll by a huge margin of 20,956 votes over his nearest Congress rival, officials said.

It is a sweet comeback for Cheriyan, an active political figure in the constituency, who started off as a student leader, after his defeat in the same constituency in 2006 against P C Vishunath of the Congress.

- Advertisement -

According to the Chief Electoral Office, Cheriyan polled 67,303 votes while the Congress-led UDF candidate D Vijaykumar got 46,347 votes and BJP’s P S Sreedharan Pillai came third with 35,270 votes.

A total of 76.25 percent of the 1,99,340 electorate had exercised their franchise in the constituency in the by-poll held on May 28.