Karnataka Poll Results LIVE UPDATES: Governor May Invite BJP To Form Govt

  • Governor may invite BJP to form govt, Yeddyurappa may be sworn in as CM on May 17

  • Congress and JD(S) Addresses Media Outside Governor’s House after meet with Governor on Tuesday.
  • Congress is giving complete & unconditional support to JD(S) to form the govt in Karnataka. We’ve given a letter to the Governor. Similarly we have also given a letter about our decision to veteran leader JD(S)’s Deve Gowda: KPCC president G Parameshwara
  • We have made it very clear to the Governor that we are providing full support to the JD(S) to form the government. JD(S) has also accepted this: Siddaramaiah
  • BJP should hold polls with ballot papers, says Uddhav Thackeray
  • CM Siddaramaiah enters the Governor’s house in Bengaluru.
  • Sources: Congress – JD(S) proposes 1 CM and 2 Deputy CMs; Mallikarjun Kharge and G. Parameshwara in Deputy CM race
  • Two independent MLAs support INCIndia.
  • BJP’s chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa cancels his visit to Delhi as uncertainty of government formation looms in Karnataka.
  • HD Kumaraswamy arrives at father & JDS chief Deve Gowda’s residence
  • SoniaGandhi dials former PM and JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda.
  • The Congress leadership has instructed Ghulam Nabi Azad and KC Venugopal to speak to JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda
  • Bharatiya Janta Party chief ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa wins from Shikaripura seat by 35,397 votes. Read about a Karnataka village that gained ‘Independence’ before India but betas remain oblivious to it
  • Official EC trends: BJP now leading on 106 seats, Congress 76, JD(S)+ 38 , Others 02
  • Chattisgarh CM calls BJP’s performance in Karnataka a ‘historic win’.
  • Siddaramaiah loses from Chamundeshwari
  • “This win belongs to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s leadership. People of Karnataka have shown their faith in our hardwork,” Union Minister Ravishankar Prasad.
  • The BJP is leading in 110 seats while the Congress is leading in 68 seats.
  • BJP – 110 CONG – 62 JD(S)+ – 48 OTH – 2
  • BJP workers celebrate outside party office in Bengaluru as trends show the party leading.
  • Celebrations in the form of slogans have begun in the headquarter of the BJP in Bengaluru as the party has crossed the 100 mark. It current holds 107 seats. The halfway mark in Karnataka assembly is 113.
  • Data published by Election Commission of India at 9.47 AM shows Congress party bag 9,92,874 votes in comparison to the BJPs 9,85,195. This means the Congress has bagged 38.2% of votes while the BJP has bagged 37.9%.However, when it comes to the seats, the BJP leads on more seats than Congress party. These are early trends and readers must note that it may change. Stay with us and we will make sure you get all the news, views and much more.
  • BJP Emerges Single-Largest Party, Nears Magic Mark
  • Latest Trends(214/222) BJP – 105 Congress – 65 JDS+ – 42 Others – 2
  • Breaking – BJP on course to form government on its own in Karnataka Cong: 68 BJP: 104 JD(S)+ : 43 Others: 2
  • LEADS: Cong 75, BJP 99, JD(S) 41 Others 2
  • BJP currently leads in 93 constituencies. To know the name of the candidates and the constituencies
  • BJP – 95 CONG – 78 JD(S)+ – 38 OTH – 0
  • BJP leading on 98 seats Congress on 65 seats JD(S)+ on 30 seats Others on 0
  • We are absolutely confident that we will have absolute majority. These are early trends. We will get close to 130 seats,” BJP’s Zafar Islam says. “These are early trends. By the time definitive trends come in, it will be a different trajectory,” Congress’s Priyanka Chaturvedi.
  • BJP leading in Coastal Karnataka, and JD(S) in Old Mysuru
  • BJP – 93 CONG – 91 JD(S)+ – 26 OTH – 0
  • ক্রমশ এগিয়ে যাচ্ছে বিজেপি: Live Update

  • ‘Congress in talks with Deve Gowda’s JDS, we have an option of alliance’, says Congress General Secretary Ashok Gehlot
  • BJP: 85 Cong: 78 JDS+: 26
  • HD Kumaraswamy leading over the Congress candidate by 1552 votes in Ramanagara
  • Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Dr Yathindra leading from Varuna Assembly seat.
  • BJP leads on 93 seats and the Congress is leading on 88. The JDS shows lead on 26 seats.
  • JD(S) leader GT Devegowda leads in Chamundeshwari against Congress leader Siddaramaiah
  • Congress leading at 76, BJP 85 and JDS 26
  • 50,000 police personnel deployed across 38 counting centres in state,11,000 in Bengaluru alone
  • Karnataka Election 2018 UPDATE: Cong: 67 BJP: 77 JD(S): 25
  • Cong 66, BJP 74, JD(S) 24
  • Congress leader Roshan Baig leading in Shivajinagar. Jyothi Ganesh of BJP leads in Tumakuru. JD(S) leader HD Revanna in Holenarasipur
  • Cong 62, BJP 72, JD(S) 23
  • BJP takes the lead in 69 seats Cong: 61 BJP: 69 JD(S)+: 23 Othrs: 0
  • CM Siddaramaiah Trailing in Chamundeshwari; Kumaraswamy Leading
  • Congress ahead on 60 seats BJP on 58 seats JD(S)+ on 12 Others on 0
  • CT Ravi leading from Chikkamangaluru
  • Deb Gowda Leads  3479 vote
  • Karnataka (84/224) – Early trends – 8:22 AM Cong: 40 BJP: 32 JD(S)+: 12 Othrs: 0
  • The Congress maintains lead on 35 seats while the BJP is leading on 31 seats, as per trends coming in from 77 out of 222 Assembly seats. The JDS is leading on 10 seats while others show lead on one seat.
  • JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy is leading in Ramanagaram; Chief minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yathindra (Congress) is leading in Varuna
  • KJ George leading from Sarvagnanagar
  • Congress leading on 28 seats, BJP On 22 Seats, JDS on 8 Seats.
  • Counting of votes begins across Karnataka-The counting of votes across 38 centres in the state has begun on Tuesday, with postal ballots being counted first.

Bengaluru: The Congress, led by chief minister Siddaramaiah is aiming to become the first CM in nearly four decades to retain the office. On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa, are planning to spoil Congress’ party. The HD Kumaraswamy-led Janata Dal (Secular) have consistently maintained that it is they who are going to attain simple majority.

BJP’s campaign was led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party’s national president Amit Shah, among a host of union ministers, chief minister such as Yogi Adityanath and other senior leaders.

For the Congress, it was CM Siddaramaiah who led the campaign. Party president Rahul Gandhi too took up multiple rounds of campaigning in the state for months. This is being seen as Gandhi’s first major electoral test since taking over presidency of the Congress.
Exit polls have suggested a hung assembly. However, both, BJP as well as the Congress have expressed confidence about getting a simple majority. Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda’s JD(S) has also said that they will get a majority and will not merely play ‘kingmakers’.

After months of tense campaigning and political manoeuvring, the voting happened on May 12. The voter turnout was 72.13 percent, highest in the state since the 1952 Assembly polls.