Karnataka Assembly Elections To Be Held On May 12, 2018


Bengaluru: The Election Commission has said that the voting for 224 Assembly seats in Karnataka will take place on May 12. The results will be announced on May 15. The Election commission, while announcing the dates said that “keeping in mind the demands of the parties” decided to hold the elections in a single phase. The southern state will witness a battle between the ruling Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Karnataka, one of the few states where the Congress is in power presently, and the only southern state where the BJP was previously able to form a government, is amongst the key states which can now help BJP change the game for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The Karnataka Assembly of 224 members will end on May 28 and a new house will be put in place then. Congress president Rahul Gandhi and his BJP counterpart Amit Shah have left no stones unturned in order to grab the spotlight in the state. Congress will put its heart and soul into retaining the southern state and the BJP will want to penetrate into the state in order to reduce the tally of the opposition party to three from four. The Congress is currently ruling in Punjab, Karnataka, Meghalaya and Mizoram.

Certain things may have leaked for which Election Commission will take appropriate action, Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat on the question how BJP’s IT Cell head Amit Malviya had put dates of Karnataka elections on social media