‘Judge’ Crisis In Calcutta High Court


Kolkata: The Calcutta High Court Bar Association is going on a five-day cease work from Monday to protest against the “Centre’s apathy” in appointing fresh judges.

The high courts of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay were established by the Indian High Courts Act 1861 and are the oldest of the 24 HCs. Calcutta High Court is the country’s oldest high court which set up in 1861. It  shares top spot with Karnataka High Court when it comes to judge vacancies vis-a-vis its approved strength, amongst all 24 high courts in the country.

 According to data published by the Union law and justice ministry on February 1, the high courts of Karnataka (61% vacancies) and Manipur (60%) fare worse than that of Kolkata (54%). A little more than two weeks from then, however, the figure has changed for the worse.

Three Calcutta HC judges — Justices Mir Dara Sheko, Siddhartha Chattopadhyay and Debi Prosad Dey — have retired, taking the vacancies to 58%. In addition, two judges are always deputed to the Port Blair circuit bench.

If this is factored in, the vacancies stand at 61%. Three more judges including Acting Chief Justice Jyotirmay Bhattacharya  are set to retire between September and December.