J&K Sex Scandal: Former DSP & Former DIG BSF Get 10 Year Jail Term

- Advertisement -

Srinagar: Special CBI court in Chandigarh awarded 10 years of imprisonment to 5 ppl, including a former DSP & a former DIG BSF, who were convicted for rape in 2006 JammuAndKashmir sex scandal case. Businessman Mehrajuddin Malik & then additional Advocate General of J&K Anil Seth acquitted.

Mohammad Ashraf Mir, former DSP of J&K police & KC Padhi, former DIG BSF, imposed with a fine of Rs one lakh. Rest of the accused- Shabbir Ahmad Laway, Shabbir Ahmad Langoo, and Masood Ahmad, imposed with a fine of Rs 50,000.

Earlier, The special CBI court on Wednesday held five persons, inculding a former DSP and a former DIG BSF, guilty for rape in the 2006 Jammu and Kashmir sex scandal. Those who have been held guilty are Mohammad Ashraf Mir (Ex-DSP), KC Padhi (Ex-DIG BSF), Shabbir Ahmad Laway, Shabbir Ahmad Langoo, and Masood Ahmad. However, businessman Mehraj-ud-Din Malik and then Advocate General of Jammu and Kashmir Anil Sethi were acquitted by court.

- Advertisement -

The 12-year-old case pertains to the involvement of top police officials, bureaucrats, politicians and even surrendered militants in expolitation of minor victims. The minors who were forced into prostitution were paid between Rs 250 to Rs 500.

The 2006 scandal had hit headlines after the J&K police discovered two video CDs showing Kashmiri minors being sexually exploited. The police questioned the minors, including the alleged kingpin, Sabeena. After questioning them, the police gathered names of 56 people allegedly involved in the scandal.

The case was transferred to the CBI in May 2006 after names of two J&K ministers, MLAs and other influential men emerged in the case. The Supreme Court shifted the trial to Chandigarh in the same year.