Jangipur Lok Sabha Constituency: Candidates For 2019 LS Poll


Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency in Murshidabad district of the state is witnessing a four-cornered race. It is a seat where former President and ex-MP Pranab Mukherjee’s legacy looms large over his son Congress candidate Abhijit Mukherjee’s campaign. Abhijit is hoping for a hattrick after two narrow victories in 2012 bypoll and 2014 Lok Sabha election, where he scraped by around 8,000 votes.

Voting – 23 April, 2019
Micro Observer: 176
Video Camera: 74
CCTV: 183
Web Casting: 267
Total 700

Total Voter Number: 16,2,775

Male: 8 lakh 24 thousand 538 people
Female: 7 lakhs 89 thousand 194 people
Third gender: 43 people

Total number of candidates are 11. Significant candidates are:

TMC- Khalilur Rahaman
BJP – Mafuja Khatun
Congress – Abhijit Mukherjee
Left Front – Zulfikar Ali