Jallikattu Row: Governor Passes Ordinance, TN CM To Inaugurate On Sunday

- Advertisement -

Chennai: Maharashtra Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao, who holds additional charge of Tamil Nadu, on Saturday gave his consent for the emergency ordinance to hold Jallikattu, the bull-taming sport banned by Supreme Court.

Rao, who holds additional charge of Tamil Nadu after K Rosaiah’s tenure ended in August 2016, reached Chennai on Saturday evening. The Tamil Nadu Cabinet had recommended the ordinance to allow Jallikattu to the Governor for promulgation.

- Advertisement -

“The Bill to replace on Saturday Ordinance will be tabled in the State Assembly on January 23 when the first Assembly session begins,” AIADMK tweeted.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O Panneerselvam will inaugurate Jallikattu at Alanganallur at 10 am on Sunday, while the state ministers will inaugurate the traditional sport in their respective districts at 11 am.

Panneerselvam and AIADMK General Secretary Sasikala Natarajan thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for ensuring the conduct of Jallikattu.

“On behalf of Government and people of TN, thank you for your support in enabling Jallikattu to be held in Tamil Nadu once again,” Panneerselvam said. “Ordinance promulgated today by TN Govt, Jallikattu is to be conducted with customary fervour with all necessary safeguards,” he added.

The Centre had, on Friday, cleared a draft ordinance to allow Jallikattu, paving the way for Tamil Nadu to promulgate it to end the widespread protests that have paralysed the state for last five days.

The Union ministries of Home, Law and Environment cleared the ordinance last night.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O Panneerselvam had met the Prime Minister on Thursday.

Jallikattu is a traditional event held in Tamil Nadu as part of Pongal celebrations. However, the apex court banned it in 2014, taking into consideration the safety of people and animals involved in the sport.

Protests demanding lifting of Jallikattu ban were held at Alanganallur, hub of the Jallikattu event in Madurai district, Theni, Dindigul, Ramanathapuram, Kanyakumari and other parts of south Tamil Nadu, police said.