Jadhav, Shardul Named In India ODI Squad For S Africa


New Delhi: Middle-order batsman Kedar Jadhav and fast bowler Shardul Thakur made a comeback into the 17-member Indian ODI squad for the six-match series in South Africa in February.

The two seasoned spinners, R. Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, were once again ignored as the selectors decided to persist with the young trio of wrist spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal along with left-arm orthodox spinner Axar Patel.

While Virat Kohli comes back as the captain, paceman Mohammed Shami also figured in the ODI squad, in which most of the current limited-overs regulars were automatic picks.
Shreyas Iyer has been rewarded for his good show against Sri Lanka in the ODIs, with his maiden overseas tour with the senior team.

Maharashtra batsman Jadhav, who is also a handy off-spinner is back after a hamstring injury ruled him out of the Sri Lanka ODIs. Mumbai fast bowler Thakur has replaced Siddharth Kaul, who did not get to play a match during the Sri Lanka series.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.