IPL: BCCI Announces Pune, Rajkot for Next Two Seasons


New Delhi: New teams from the cities of Pune and Rajkot will feature in the Indian Premier League 2016 and 2017. In fresh bids in New Delhi on Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced that New Rising (Pune) and Intex (Rajkot) will be the new franchises in the lucrative Twenty20 championship.

Pune and Rajkot replace Chennai Super Kings and the Jaipur-based Rajasthan Royals. Both teams, former IPL champions, have been suspended by a Supreme Court appointed panel because their team owners – Gurunath Meiyappan (Chennai) and Raj Kundra (Rajasthan) — were charged with betting and sharing team information with bookies during the 2013 edition of the tournament.

The new cities were chosen after a reverse bidding process in which a franchise that claims the least from the BCCI’s coffers (mainly earned from broadcast and sponsorship fees), wins. However, Sanjeev Goenka’s New Rising and Intex (a mobile company) did not ask for any BCCI help.

On Tuesday, five bids were finally submitted after more than 20 companies had showed initial interest by picking up application papers. Sanjib Goyenka is the owner of Pune franchise.

This was the first time the BCCI adopted such a policy to ensure that the valuation of the teams did not below the base price of Rs 40 crore-a-side.

The new teams will now have the option to choose from the top five players each from Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. This will be decided during a players draft. The trading window will start on December 15.