India Vs Aus T20: Kohli Wins Toss, Elects To Bowl First


Ranchi: India won the five-match ODI series 4-1, will aim to continue their dominance over the Australian side as the three-match T-20 series kicks off in MS Dhoni’s hometown Ranchi on Saturday.

While India, who are currently ranked fifth in ICC World T20 rankings, are favourites to win the three-match series starting at the JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi, Australia are dealt with a big blow as Steve Smith has returned to homeland after sustaining an injury.

India have recalled veteran left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra as he joins Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah in the pace-bowling department. Meanwhile, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel will take care of spin-bowling department. However, only two spinners are likely to find a place in the playing XI.

India’s batting is bolstered by Shikhar Dhawan’s comeback and it is certain that he will open the innings alongside man-in-form Rohit Sharma. Skipper Kohli, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya are expected to be a part of the middle order. If that happens, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul will have to warm the benches.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

Australia: David Warner (Captain), Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Dan Christian, Tim Paine (wicketkeeper), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff.