India Squad For AFC U-16 Championship


Panaji: India announced a 21-member squad for the upcoming 17th AFC U-16 Championship, to be held in Goa from September 15.

Hosts India, clubbed with UAE, Saudi Arabia and Iran, will play their group matches on September 15, 18 and 21, an All India Football Federation (AIFF) statement said. As many as 16 teams from the continent will be vying to win the title. India’s coach Nicolai Adam, who has been working hard with his players for the tournament, said he was optimistic about his team’s chances of winning.

“The exposure tour to Germany and Norway went really well as it helped the entire team to reach a competitive level. It will be very difficult for any team playing in the AFC U-16 Finals to beat us,” Adam was quoted as saying in the release. The Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the championship has announced free match viewing for football enthusiasts.

Tournament Director of LOC, Javier Ceppi said, “Goans would really enjoy the biggest international football tournament in the country till date. This tournament will provide an amazing opportunity for football fans in the country to witness top class international level football at their doorstep.”

India squad: Goalkeepers: Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Mohammad Nawaz.

Defenders: Boris Singh Thangjam, Jitendra Singh, Mohammed Sarif Khan, Mohamad Rakip, Gaston D’Silva, Narender.

Midfielders: Sanjeev Stalin, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Khumanthem Ninthoinganba Meetei, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Komal Thatal, Aniket Anil Jadhav, Lalengmawia, Saurabh Meher, Joseph Vanlalhruaia.

Forwards: Aman Chetri, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Nonganba Singh Akoijam.