India to host the T20 WC in 2016


Dubai: The International Cricket Council Board, after its first meeting in Dubai on Wednesday, has said that India will host the World Twenty20 championship in 2016. The schedule of ICC events during the period 2015-2019 were decided by the Board. India will host the World Twenty20 from March 11 to April 3. Ireland and Scotland will host the qualifiers between July 6-26 this year.

England is going to host three ICC events in the next four-year period, including the 2019 World Cup between May 30-July 15. In 2017, England will host two tournaments – the Champions Trophy (June 1-19) and Women’s World Cup (August 4-27).

Bangladesh, which hosted the World T20 last year, have also been awarded two ICC events – the Under-19 World Cup (January 22-february 14, 2016) and World Cup qualifiers (March 1-April 4, 2018).

New Zealand will host the Under-19 World Cup in 2018 (January 12-February 4) and West Indies will host the Women’s World Twenty20 in 2018 (November 2-November 25)