Gravitational Wave Scientists Win 2017 Nobel Physics Prize


Stockholm: Scientists Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne won the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics for decisive contributions in the observation of gravitational waves, the award-giving body said on Tuesday.

“This is something completely new and different, opening up unseen worlds,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement on awarding the 9 million Swedish crown ($1.1 million) prize.

The three scientists “made decisive contributions to the LIGO detector,” an observatory instrument that detects the waves. The strongest gravitational waves are produced by catastrophic events, such as colliding black holes.

Gravitational waves are “ripples” in the fabric of space-time caused by some of the most violent and energetic processes in the universe, according to California Institute of Technology.