FTTI Protest: 11 Film Maker Returns Award


Pune: As the students of Film and Telivision Institute (FTII) called off their 136-day strike, 10 filmmakers including Dibakar Banejee and Anand Patwardhan, expressing solidarity with the students, on Wednesday returned their National awards.

The filmmakers 11 flim makers were Dibakar Banejee, Anand Patwardhan, Paresh Kamdar, Nishtha Jain, Kirti Nakhwa, Harshavardhan Kulkarni, Hari Nair, Rakesh Sharma, Indraneel Lahiri, Lipika Singh Darai.

Three prominent FTTI alumni on Wednesday decided to return their National Awards in protest against what they termed “an atmosphere of intolerance” in the country in the past few months.

Dibakar Banerjee told to the media that he is not politically motivated. He is motivated by his own conscience. He also added that if FTTI’s ethos is protected than not only I will take back my award but will hand out 10 others.

Previous articleMan Sentenced to Life in Chennai Acid Attack
Next articleIndia Signed MoU to Conserve Written Heritage