Four Member BJP Team Heads For Asansol


Kolkata: Describing the violence in West Bengal’s Asansol “painful and unfortunate”, BJP President Amit Shah on Friday formed a four-member committee to visit the city and submit a report.

BJP’s four Parliamentary leaders, headed by Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, today proceeded towards their destination to take stock of the situation.The committee members are BJP Vice-President Om Mathur, former Union Minister Shahnawaz Hussain and MPs Roopa Ganguly and B.D. Ram. They started their journey from this city early this morning.

“Now going to Asansol as part of four-member BJP team to visit riot-affected areas,” Shahnawaz Hussain tweeted.

In a statement issued, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said that Shah condemned the Asansol violence. Banerjee was in Delhi for two days to pitch for an anti-BJP coalition ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.