Five Journalists Arrested In Paschim Medinipur


Medinipur: The police on Sunday arrested five journalists over their alleged involvement in a brawl with local Trinamool cadres in Paschim Medinipur’s Jhargram.

The arrested scribes are-Saurav Chowdhury, Amitabh Rath, Debem Tiwari, Raju Das and Alok Santra.

- Advertisement -

As per reports, some activists of TMC allegedly attacked the media personnel on Friday, a day after the party scored a massive victory, leading to a clash. A local TMC acdre Debraj Roy has allegedly led the assault, who later suffered a broken limb.

On Saturday, following a complaint from the TMC, police registered a case on the five accused and nabbed them the next day.

Meanwhile, The arrested scribes have junked the allegation against them and blamed the clash on Trinamool’s internal rivalry.