First phase of Bihar polls underway


Patna: Polling for the first phase of assembly elections is underway in Bihar. Amid unprecedented security arrangements, polling began at 7 am in 49 constituencies spread over 10 districts in this phase.

Voting will continue upto 5 pm. In four constituencies of naxal infested Jamui district voting will conclude at 3 pm.

Besides Rajauli and Govindpur constituencies in Nawada district , Tarapur and Jamalpur constituencies in Munger and Suryagarha constituency in Lakhisarai district, polling time will be till 3 pm. In Alauli and Beldaur constituencies of Khagaria district and Katoria and Belhar constituencies of Banka district, voting will end at 4 pm.

Important candidates whose fate will be decided today include Ministers Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and Damodar Rawat. Besides State LJP President Pashupati Kumar Paras , State chief of Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) Shakuni Chaudhary, former Assembly Speaker Sadanand Singh and former Minister Renu Kushwaha are also in the fray.

The five phase assembly election will end on November 5th. Counting of votes will take place on November 8th. The term of the current 243-member Bihar Assembly expires on November 29th.

Previous articleAccident Kills Bengal Man in Rajasthan
Next articleHave No Intentions of Becoming FIFA President: Pele