First Match And Sunil Singh Becomes ‘Man Of The Match’


Barrackpore: In the first matchTrinamool candidate, Sunil Singh becomes ‘The Man Of The Match’, won by a margin of 63,018 votes in Noapara. He won 1,01,729 votes that was well over the 50% mark.

The BJP candidate came second with 38,711 votes, while CPI(M) won 35,497 and Congress 10,527 votes. Early counting indicated that Trinamool candidate was leading by 68,503 votes in Uluberia Lok Sabha seat where counting was on. BJP was in the second and CPI(M) in the third position.“I expected to win by a bigger margin,” Sunil Singh said.

The bypoll results provide indications of the popularity of the political parties before rural polls are held across the state soon. The rural polls will be a sort of dress-rehearsal for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, for which BJP president Amit Shah wants to secure at least half of the 44 seats that Bengal offers.

The Left-backed CPI-M candidate took the third spot in Noapara and was occupying the same position on Uluberia.In Noapara, where the death of Congress legislator Madhusudan Ghose led to the by-election, Trinamool’s Sunil Singh won by more than 63,000 votes over his nearest rival, Sandip Banerjee of the BJP.

The Congress was far behind in the fourth position in both the constituencies. The Congress had won the Noapara seat in alliance with the Left Front. The by-elections were held on January 29. The death of Ahmed and Ghose necessitated the bypoll.

The bypolls will fuel an intense debate on the recent decision of the CPI(M) central committee not to ally with Congress as the results show the two parties, in alliance, could have come second in Noapara.

In 2011, TMC candidate Manju Bose won the Noapara Assembly constituency. Five years later, the seat was wrested by Madhusudan Ghose of Congress with support from the Left.