First Four-Nation Transnational Buses Reach Jalpaiguri


Jalpaiguri: After the signing of a four-nation transnational bus service agreement between Bangladesh, Bhutan, India and Nepal, a trial service was finally launched on Tuesday.

The buses started their journey from Dhaka with 49 official delegates from three nations on-board. Two passenger buses launched under the Bangladesh-Bhutan-India-Nepal (BBIN) Motor Vehicles Agreement June 2015 reached Jalpaiguri yesterday night.

Two more batches of buses will depart from Nepal’s capital Kathmandu and the other one from Siliguri’s mini-secretariat Uttarkanya. The agreement has been ratified by India, Nepal and Bangladesh only; Bhutan is yet to follow the suit.

As of now, the trial service only includes only these three countries and has been undertaken to find out the difficulties and possibilities associated with the route. “During the journey, the team will do route survey, immigration formalities, border checkpoints and other facilities,” said Bangladesh Road Transport and Highways Division Deputy Secretary Sultana Yasmin.