Factually BJP Wins WB Civic Polls 2017


Kolkata: In the recently concluded 7 municipality elections, BJP was throttled down by the TMC party. Except for only 3 seats, Narendra Modi’s party gained nothing. In the present scenario, the BJP has even failed to maintain the vote percentage of the last parliamentary election. But the party refuses to believe in such a statistic. The party’s central leader, Kailash Vijavargiya claimed BJP to be in the first position, although it has lost in the civic polls.

Both the ruling parties at the centre and the state has been at loggerheads since long time. Neither the Bharatiya Janata Party, nor the Trinamool Congress Party has left a single table unturned to allegedly attack each other for each of its own respective policies. The ongoing battle has spread its wings even after the civic polls where BJP’s Kailash Vijayvargiya has pointed out that inspite of TMC’s win; BJP still stands first in its position in the state.

৭ পুরসভা ভোটের ফলাফলে রাজ্যে প্রথম স্থান বিজেপিরই

This piece of information might be surprising, especially after the immediate publication of the results of the West Bengal civic polls where TMC won. But how is it possible, especially when BJP won in just 3 seats out of 7 municipalities.

Statistical information made public on social media by the BJP leader has gone viral. It has been shared n number of times by several leaders and followers. The Trinamool Congress Party took four of seven municipal bodies in West Bengal where elections were held – is made sweeter by a win in Mirik in the hills of Darjeeling, a stronghold for years of BJP ally the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM). In the plains, the Trinamool won all three, Raiganj, Domkal and Pujali. It snatched Raiganj from the Congress and made inroads into another of the rival party’s strongholds with its win in Domkal which is in Murshidabad district, dominated by state Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury for years. Darjeeling, Kurseong and Kalimpong, the three other municipal bodies in the hills, were retained by the GJM, but not before a fright in early rounds of counting when the Trinamool led in most municipalities. But these figures speak the opposite of what Kailash Vijayvargiya has claimed.

Factually, polls were conducted in 148 seats of the 7 municipalities out of which BJP won only 3, 2 from Pujali and one from Raiganj. On the other hand, TMC won 62 seats. In the hills, GJM got 70 seats. But jointly GJM and BJP got 73 seats, as claimed by BJP. In this way, BJP(73) has claimed to have got more seats than TMC (62)

Reporting by: Manab Guha

Edited by: Saheli Dey

Previous articleSC Grants Conditional Bail To Pawan Ruia
Next articleThe ‘Bond’ We Have Grown Up Reading